Celebrate Excellence with us at the 2017 President’s Dinner

On May 24, 2017, Kennedy Catholic will hold its annual President’s Dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown. Choosing the honorees each year is a nearly impossible task because so many wonderful people give so much of their time and money to the school and its mission. This year Kennedy has chosen to honor Dr. Alfred Tinger (Parent of Justin ’13, Christopher ’15, Mark ’16, Nicholas ’18, Luke ’20) with the Lux Christi award. The award is given to a member of the Kennedy Catholic community for their dedication to Catholic Education. Father Vaillancourt says, “Dr. Tinger, a radiation oncologist in Mount Kisco, is a long time supporter of Kennedy Catholic. Not only has he chosen to send all five of his children to Kennedy, but he also is a part of our esteemed faculty in which he teaches Medical Technology as part of our S.T.E.M. learning initiative. Kennedy is certainly a better place because of Dr. Tinger.

2017 Students of Excellence pose with their college/university sweatshirts

Kennedy will honor Mrs. Joyce Ferraro (Parent of Justin ’17) with the Divine Compassion award. “Mrs. Ferraro is the epitome of altruism“, said Fred Compton, Director of Advancement. “She volunteers tirelessly at for major Kennedy event, is a leader of the Parents Association, she makes sure that the monthly Teacher’s Appreciation Breakfast is held to the highest standards, and helps in so many other areas of Kennedy Catholic life.

Each year, Kennedy honors some of the top students in the graduating class by crowning them, Student’s of Excellence. These students are models for future students by reaching to the top of the academic charts, by becoming leaders in the school, and giving generously of their time through community service. This year’s students are: Kelsey Baron, Sophia Brennan, Catherine Brennan, Kerry Brosnan, Tara Cooney, Alana Dinelli, Isabella Dinelli, Jiayi Fan, Justin Ferraro, Julia Gayanelo, Erin Glendon, Nicholas Goebelbecker, Juliet Hoinkis, Meenu Johnkutty, Kathleen Kennon, Mairead Kennon, Nicholas Kralik, Hannah Langley, Alyssa Moylan, Miraj Patel, Nicholas Quartironi, Anna Santini, Erin Sullivan, Justin Szpindor, Lauren Telesca

Additionally, Kennedy awards a Teacher of the Year award to a Mr. Brian Bruder and Mr. Robert Santini, both of whom are members of the Social Studies department.

Previous honorees of the Lux Christi Award are Sister Barbara Heil, Mr. John McAvoy, Rev. Joseph D Fessio, Cardinal O’Brien, and Cardinal Dolan

Previous honorees of the Divine Compassion Award are Mrs. Maura Devey, Mrs. Patricia Clair, Rev. Robert M. Dunn, Dr. Christina Araujo, and Mrs. Linda M. Troani.